Decals

Color Chart

GFIA
Latest News

GFIA Articles &
Activities Index

Find us on Facebook

foxes (General Discussion)

by cdartown, Saturday, April 22, 2017, 13:34 (152 days ago)

Here in Vermont we want our guineas to free range since their main job is to control deer ticks which are a plague to us and our dogs.
However, the area we want the guineas to free range in is bordered by woods which are great fox habitat. We have a house to which the guineas return each night but we leave lost several birds during the day to foxes especially this time of the year. Does any one have any recommendations about motion sensitive repellents particularly sound/light ones since water ones would be difficult. Thanks.

I have no experience with any predator deterrents

by Barbara, Sunday, April 23, 2017, 00:32 (152 days ago) @ cdartown

I hope those who do will offer their recommendations.

We use Nite Guards around our property

by ZoeTX, Sunday, April 23, 2017, 13:29 (151 days ago) @ Barbara

They won't do too much for daytime predators, but if the predators see them at night, they might think twice about coming around during the day. Our best defense against predators either day or night is our Great Pyr. He is ancient and can't see or hear, but when he barks everyone know something huge is out there!!

img:Motion Sensitive Repellents =]

by BennieAndTheJets, Saturday, April 29, 2017, 02:38 (146 days ago) @ cdartown

[image]

We had the same problem: got Guineas to get rid of ticks, got attached to the birds, lost one to a coyote at 11:30 am before my eyes - got "motion sensitive repellents" - ha ha - aka Life Stock Guardian dogs - we got two Maremma Sheepdogs - they are still in training, but the canine predators are already aware, I am pretty sure - they know there is 'a new Sheriff in town' and they hunt elsewhere - so far so good

can your dogs help?

Motion Sensitive Repellents =]

by buckwheatkeet, Monday, May 01, 2017, 23:01 (143 days ago) @ BennieAndTheJets